The Trust – our Trustees

Our Trustees combine a diverse range of professional skills, experience and talent with a hands-on, locally focused approach.

Together they are specialists in heritage restoration, conservation, architectural design and history, business and commercial management, project co-ordination, community engagement, design and finance.

What we’re doing now  /  Project news


Wiliam Palin – Chair

Will is Director of Conservation at the Old Royal Naval College in Greenwich. He is a former director of SAVE Britain’s Heritage and a trustee of the Ancient Monuments Society.

He is the Chair of the Sheerness Dockyard Preservation Trust Trustees.


Heloise Palin

Heloise has worked as a conservation advisor at the Victorian Society, as a conservation officer for two local authorities and now as a heritage consultant for Alan Baxter Associates.

Due to family commitments Heloise has had to step down for the present. 


Amicia de Moubray

Amicia de Moubray has worked for the Victorian Society and the National Trust. She is author of 20th-Century Castles in Britain published by Frances Lincoln and Saving Thanet: The Architecture of the Kent’s Forgotten Coast.

She published SAVE Britain’s Heritage and has written for Country Life and many other newspapers and magazines.

Andrew Byrne

Andrew trained as a Quantity Surveyor in the 1980s before moving into project management - mostly involving historic buildings. He was administrator for the Spitalfields Historic Buildings Trust in the 1990s and has repaired several listed buildings outside the sphere of the Trust.

He has written two books and numerous articles on Georgian architecture and currently combines work as a freelance architectural historian with historic buildings consultancy.

Stuart Taylor

Stuart is a town planner and landscape architect working with English Heritage’s Heritage at Risk team. As historic buildings adviser for the Georgian Group advising on placemaking, regeneration and the sensitive development and reuse of historic buildings.

He is a committee member of the Peckham Society and participates in the Southwark Conservation Area Advisory Group.

Matt Brown

Matt is a local business man with a wealth of skills and local contacts from which trust has greatly benefitted.

A graphic designer and print specialist by trade Matt is a keen local historian and is Secretary of  Sheerness Enhancement Association for Leisure (SEAL)


John Baker – Treasurer

John is the Corporate and Business Planning Manager at London South Bank University, previously working as a strategic project manager and as a departmental manager.

John has worked in administration in the Arts, as Facilities Manager at Riverside Studios and Building Manager at the Whitechapel Art Gallery. He has also a trustee of the Association of University Adminstrators (AUA), an educational charity for the development of professional services staff in Higher Education.

Kevin Moore

Kevin is currently the Master of the Public Relations Guild (company without livery).

For the last 8 years he chaired the Hackney Society and the Conservation Area Advisory Committee for Central and South Hackney.

From 2006 to 2014 he was the Chief Executive of Walworth Garden Farm an environmental education charity based in South London and is now Chief Executive of Stepney City Farm.


Chris Foulds

Chris was born and raised on Sheppey and has been a Swale Borough Councillor. His accountancy and advisory firm works with new businesses. Chris runs Innov8 On Sheppey, managing Masters House (the former Sheerness council offices).

Chris chairs Sheerness Enhancement Association for Leisure (SEAL), successfully delivering much needed town improvements. He has established an annual open air film festival and delivered parties for local children.


Andrew Deeley

Andrew is a business professional with a track record of helping startup and young businesses grow. He has helped turn around struggling large businesses with £100m+ annual turnover.

He has also worked with a number of local social enterprises and was the founder of Innov8 On Sheppey CIC, supporting the unemployed with business startup projects. One of these projects spawned the Creative Coding Course, securing funding to help young people learn to code games and entertainment apps for mobile phones. Andrew volunteered his time to this project for 3 years before handing the reins over to fellow trustee Chris Foulds.


Allison Young

Allison Young is a freelance consultant, events and project manager with over 28 years creative sector experience. Following 15 years as a local authority Arts Development Officer, she has worked in creative learning, arts education, opera, youth music, healthcare arts, commissioning and has run large scale outdoor touring events for the BBC.

Allison curates Rochester Art Gallery and is a consultant for the Royal Opera House and Artsmark. Allison is employed by the Trust to help us engage with the local community and schools through a range of projects and events.

Justin Webb

Justin Webb is a founder member of the Sheerness Dockyard Preservation Trust.

Educated at Kings College London, he is a resident of neighbouring Naval Terrace and has worked tirelessly for the acquisition and suitable restoration of the Dockyard Church.

In 2010 he compiled the application for SAVE to have the Dockyard Church put on the notable watch list of the World Monuments Fund.